Eight Tests for Decision Making

(author unknown)

Scriptural Test – Has God already spoken about it in His word?

“All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.” (II Timothy 3:16)

Secrecy Test – Would it bother me if everyone knew this was my choice?

“The integrity of the upright will guide them, but the perversity of the unfaithful will destroy them.” (Proverbs 11:3)

Survey Test – What if everyone followed my example?

“Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity.” (I Timothy 4:12)

Spiritual Test – Am I being people-pressured or Spirit-led?

“For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bondservant of Christ.” (Galatians 1:10)

Stumbling Test – Could this cause another person to stumble?

“It is good neither to eat meat nor drink wine nor do anything by which your brother stumbles or is offended or is made weak.” (Romans 14:21)

Serenity Test – Have I prayed and received peace about this decision?

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made know to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7)

Sanctification Test – Will this keep me from growing in the character of Christ?

“But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.” (II Corinthians 3:18)

Supreme Test – Does this glorify God?

“Therefore, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” (I Corinthians 10:31)

Leave a comment