How Do I Survive This Grief That Consumes Me?

(By Shea L. Watts)

Tell me how to go on living everyday when I have lost you once again.

What if I’m gone tomorrow?

What if I’m gone a week from now?

What if I’m gone a year from now?

Will you truly know that my heart is in pieces?

Will you know how much I wanted to hear your laugh?

Will you know how much I wanted to see you hold your Niece?

Will you know how much I wanted to see you spending time with your Sister and your Brother?

Will you know how much I wanted to hug you?

Will you know how much I wanted you to be free from the chains that hold you captive?

Will you know all I ever wanted was for you to truly be happy?

Tell me how I’m supposed to put the pieces of my heart back together.

Tell me why I can’t have memories with the beautiful boy I gave birth to.

If only you could see inside my heart the Love I have for you.

How do I survive this grief that consumes me?

Leave a comment