The Sailor’s Creed

(author unknown)

I have chosen to serve in the United States Navy. America depends on my performance for her survival, and I accept the challenge to set my standards high, placing my country’s well-being above self-interest.

I will be loyal to my country, its Constitution and laws, and to my shipmates.

I will be honest in my personal and professional life and encourage my shipmates to do the same.

I will, to the best of my ability, do the right thing for its own sake, and I am prepared to face pain or death in defense of my country.

I will be a professional, wearing my uniform with pride and accepting responsibility for my actions.I will set excellence as my standard and always strive for ways to make me a better sailor and my crew a better crew.

(This version of the Sailor’s Creed was in use, with revisions, until 1997)

Leave a comment